HE WILL MAKE YOU


 Matthew 4:18-20:

18 And Jesus, walking by the Sea of Galilee, saw two brothers, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea; for they were fishermen. 19 Then He said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.” 20 They immediately left their nets and followed Him.

Jeremiah 29:11:

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Proverbs 4:18:

But the path of the just is like the shining sun, That shines ever brighter unto the perfect day.

I’m that little girl from Ajao Estate in Lagos (Nigeria), who loved Ogi and Akara so much, that she could bite her tongue twice before the first swallow. If Ogi and Akara was good for breakfast, you could imagine the dinner. It would be none other than the legendary Amala and Ewedu with Gbegiri. Somewhere in the midst, a lovely plate of rice and beans with Ofada stew and a rare conglomerate of assorted meat would always do the trick.

As a little girl, I remember strolling the busy streets in front of what is now my grandmother’s 35 year old house.  The roads were ever busy or should I say just excessively noisy. There were young men selling pirated CD’s, using the back of old transport buses as their kiosk. They’d play the music out so loud, you’d think all pedestrians were being called to join a party, and there were 2 or 3 of such kiosks on the same road. The market women were there too.

Oh how I cherish my memories of the popular “Tuesday market”! Sure, the street had its main market on the insides of an area called “Abule”, where all the fresh vegetables and every other spice and grain could be found. But the Tuesday market was a periodic market, that spilled out of the Abule market area and stretched up to the sides of my grandmother’s house. The women would lay their trays of fresh vegetables and spices on the sandy road sides, sometimes padding them with old sacks to raise them a little above the ground. They would then call out to passer-bys to buy their goods. It was such a lovely experience.

My mum would always send me to buy either some shoko or tete leaves from the Tuesday roadside market. Both were Efo (a type of Nigerian vegetable) leaves and till today, I still don’t get the difference. I’d buy whichever my mother had specifically asked for and say to the elderly woman who sold them to me; “My mummy said Shoko o! Mama, are you sure you’ve sold me Shoko vegetables?’. The mama would literally shout back at me both to reassure me and to get me out of her sight, so she could attend to other customers.

Abule  and the Tuesday market are so far from where I am today. That little girl who was sent to buy shoko and tete is so far from who I am now, and I mean that in every sense of the word “far”.  So, it really doesn’t matter how or where you start off, what matters is who you choose to follow. Jesus told his disciples, “Follow me and I will make you..”. If you follow Jesus, He would do the making. Little by little, your life would practically be transformed for the better. God has a great destiny for you and following Jesus always makes such a strong difference not only in terms of your status, but also in terms of your maturity, your lifestyle, your decisions and the opportunities that come your way and your place in eternity.

Giving my life to Christ was the best decision I ever made in my life. So from me to you, stop stressing about how or where you are right now. Focus on following Jesus, for He has promised- HE WILL MAKE YOU.

3 thoughts on “HE WILL MAKE YOU

  1. Firstly, LOL @ ‘If Ogi and Akara was good for breakfast, you could imagine the dinner. It would be none other than the legendary Amala and Ewedu with Gbegiri. Somewhere in the midst, a lovely plate of rice and beans with Ofada stew and a rare conglomerate of assorted meat would always do the trick’. See how you described this like a professional and intellectual foodie. Smh, making me crave such dishes here now.
    Lastly, this is beautiful. Sometimes I get all worried that I am not where I am supposed to be, but reading the part where you said He will make us ‘little by little’ reminded me to just calm down and keep following Him.
    God bless you, Aunty B!

    1. Amen! Haha! But I am a real foodie though! Yes sir, its always step by step not rush-rush, because the strength of our character and our intimacy with God is more important to Him than the ‘things’ we are able to acquire in life. It’s a journey, and we will get there! Thanks for reading Sir Wright! 🙂

Leave a Reply

